

Report for: Council

Date of Meeting: 18 May 2023

**Subject:** Cabinet and Committee

Memberships

**Responsible Officer:** Jessica Farmer – Interim Director of

Legal and Governance Services

Exempt: No

**Enclosures:** List of Committee Memberships

#### Introduction

1.1 The Council is required to review and determine the allocation of places on standing committees to political groups in accordance with the political balance rules. Members of Committees and Sub-Committees are appointed in accordance with the wishes of the political groups. The Licensing and General Purposes Committee and Overview and Scrutiny Committee will meet on the rising of the Annual Council Meeting to determine the allocation of places on their Sub-Committees. The names of the Members proposed to be appointed by the political group which holds the majority of Members in the Council are attached.

#### 1.2 Political Balance

The allocation is determined in accordance with the application of "political balance" rules under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and is designed to ensure that the political composition of the Council's committees, insofar as possible, replicates the political composition of the Council.

### 1.3 Cabinet

The Local Government Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 requires the Leader of the Council to notify it of:

• The name of the Deputy Leader of the Council; and

- The names of Cabinet Members and their delegated authorities (i.e. Portfolios).
- 1.4 The Constitution will be updated to reflect the changes in this agenda by the Director of Legal and Governance Services in accordance with the existing delegation.
- 2. Recommendations:
- 2.1 It be noted that Councillor Marilyn Ashton is the Deputy Leader of the Council;
- 2.2 It be noted that the following Councillors are appointed to the Cabinet (Executive) with the identified Portfolios:

Portfolio	Councillor		
Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Strategy	Councillor Paul Osborn		
Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Planning and Regeneration	Councillor Marilyn Ashton		
Portfolio Holder for Adult Services and public Health	Councillor Pritesh Patel		
Portfolio Holder for Business, Employment and Property	Councillor Norman Stevenson		
Portfolio Holder for Children's Services	Councillor Hitesh Karia		
Portfolio Holder for Community and Culture	Councillor Jean Lammiman		
Portfolio Holder for Environment and Community Safety	Councillor Anjana Patel		
Portfolio Holder for Finance and Human Resources	Councillor David Ashton		
Portfolio Holder for Housing	Councillor Mina Parmar		
Portfolio Holder for Performance, Communications and Customer Experience	Councillor Stephen Greek		

2.3 That the Council determines the allocation of places on the following committees in accordance with the "political balance" rules in the Local Government and Housing Act 1989:

Committee	Size	Conservative Group 31	Labour Group 23	Independent
Governance, Audit, Risk Management and Standards	7	4	3	0
Planning	7	4	3	0
Overview and Scrutiny	9	5	4	0
Pension Fund Committee	4	2	2	0
Licensing and General Purposes Committee	16	9	7	0
SACRE	3	2	1	0
Pension Board	1	1	0	0

**and** appoint Members to them, in accordance with the notification from Political Groups;

2.4 That the establishment and terms of reference of all the above Committees and other bodies, as set out in the Appendix be agreed;

## **Contact:**

Vishal Seegoolam, Democratic & Electoral and Registration Services Manager

E-mail: vishal.seegoolam@harrow.gov.uk

# **Background Papers:**

Constitution